Tags

, , , ,

While watching The Middle last night, I found the episode struck closer to home than I would have been comfortable with. The mom accidentally bumps into a man at a store, and she says she’s sorry a couple of times. Obviously a grump, the man glares and walks away, muttering “Stupid Lady”. She then spends the rest of the episode obsessing over it. Eventually, she gets her closure by confronting a rude woman about her behavior.

I don’t know why I get upset about things like that. The opinion of a rude person doesn’t matter at all. Even if we want to, we can’t have peace with everyone, no matter how far backwards we bend. People’s opinions don’t change. I don’t know why instances like this matter so much.

Andrée Seu mentioned this in her blog post today:

The Lord considers it as silly to be upset about what tall people think as about what small people think:‘Stop regarding man in whose nostrils is breath, for of what account is he?’

I suppose the solution has less to do with other people and more about my knowledge of God and self-control. It’s also a reminder that we can understand grace because we were given grace, and we can understand why others sometimes can’t give it.

PS. That’s Isaiah 2:22

PPS. I love how when I have a question about something like this and make an effort to meditate on it, the answer will be provided, even without a conscious prayer.

