It’s easier to find quotes on love or reason than it is to find quotes on thankfulness or gratitude, especially from regular quote sites. They’re out there, but they certainly aren’t as abundant. Albert Einstein said:

There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.

Kana’s blog post on miracles reminded me of this. They don’t happen for everyone, but they do happen. I think there are small miracles that happen every day that we aren’t aware of.

I recall my accident that happened a few months ago. If I hadn’t returned the books to the library before I left for work, then I wouldn’t have gotten hit. Or if I had gotten my things ready the night before, I might have missed it by a few seconds. Maybe if I hadn’t resisted that Chick-fil-A chicken biscuit I was craving so much, nothing would have happened. Except it did.

You can turn that thinking around. What if all the little delays we face or the planning we do is a Divine way of protecting us from disaster? There could have been a hundred other times I could have been hit, but it only happened this one time.

When I googled for Bible verses, I was able to find a lot on thankfulness, all to God, in reference to His goodness, His people, and His gifts. Colossians 4:2 approached it a little bit differently, hinting that thankfulness was something we needed to recall to our minds. There’s an element to remembrance there.

Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving.

I am thankful for all of my little blessings and for all of my miracles…the ones I see and the ones I can’t.

