“The road to hell is paved with good intentions.” It’s said frequently, but not often taken seriously. I think that good intentions do count for something. You do what you can with what you have at the time. However, earnestness must be tempered by wisdom, because it does not cover a multitude of sins on its own.

The earnest phrases “I might be ignorant, but” or “I don’t know much, but” in theological or religious conversations are shameful. Ironically, it’s frequently stated proudly, like ignorance is an accomplishment. Ignorance is nothing to celebrate, and there is no reason that intelligence, knowledge, and religiosity cannot all be achieved. While the world is challenging and sometimes unfathomable, it is built upon reason and order.

Madeleine L’Engle said:

Just because we don’t understand doesn’t mean that the explanation doesn’t exist.

Faith and reason should never be in a battle against each other. (It was Kierkegaard who introduced the concept of faith as “a leap in the dark”, and I don’t think poor faith has been able to shake that reputation.) It is sin, not faith, that is responsible for the chaos and the irrational, the senseless acts of violence and hate. Perhaps if we didn’t have blinders on, we could see that many of us are truly on the same side.

P.S. I’ve wanted to do something religious on a Sunday morning, but I haven’t been able to get the timing right till now! Just a few little thoughts that run through my head often… I just haven’t had a chance to express them yet. 🙂

